08:00 – 08:45


08:45 – 09:00


Tshwane Metropolitan Police Department (TMPD) Choir

09:00 – 09:10

Singing of the African Anthem & South African National Anthem

TMPD Choir

09:10 – 09:15

Welcoming Remarks

Cllr Sheila Lynn Senkubuge, Member of the Mayoral Committee for Roads and Transport, City of Tshwane

09:15 – 09:30

Opening Address

His Worship: Cllr Stevens Mokgalapa, Executive Mayor of the City of Tshwane

09:30 – 10:00

Capital Cities Mayoral Procession

Cllr Sheila Lynn Senkubuge, Member of the Mayoral Committee for Roads and Transport, City of Tshwane
His Worship: Cllr. Stevens Mokgalapa Executive Mayor,
His Excellency Ambassador. Bene L. M'Poko Dean of the Diplomatic Corps

10:00 – 10:15

Message of support

His Excellency Ambassador Bene L. M'Poko, Ambassador of the DRC, Dean of the Diplomatic Corps in South Africa,

10:15 – 11:00

Keynote Address: The Power of Cities on the Continent

Honourable Dr. Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma, Minister of Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs (COGTA)

11:00 – 11:30

Tea/Coffee break

11:30 – 11:45

ACCSF in response to the challenges facing cities


11:45 – 12:30

Panel: Together, we are building resilience to climate change and investing in disaster risk
Present current work underway to build resilience in African cities and how this is strengthen by collaboration with other cities, research institutions, and non-government stakeholders.

Moderator: Mr Hastings Chikoko, C40 Africa Regional Chair
Honourable Muesee Kazapua, Mayor of Windhoek City Council
Honourable Emmanuel Miles Sampa,Mayor of Lusaka City Council
Dr Christopher Jack, Principal Scientific Officer, Climate Systems Analysis Group (CSAG)
Honourable Assane Seydou, Mayor of Niamey
Ms Rebecca Cameron, Professional Officer ICLEI Africa

12:30 – 13:30

Lunch (Mayors to record video vignettes)

13:30 – 14:15

Sura baadaye – shape the future
African youth representatives will share multiple perspectives on urban sustainability, equity, innovation, and economics, curated from youth across the continent

Moderator: Ms Zamantungwa Khumalo, Supplements & Special Projects Editor, Mail and Guardian
Ms Khodani Mulaudzi, WWF
Cllr Kwena Moloto, Ubunto Box Initiative
Ms Boipelo Lekwane, Agang Bokamoso
Ms Tshegofatso Matlou, Youth@SAIIA

14:15 – 15:30

Panel: Shaping Equitable, Resource Efficient African Cities
This panel explores the imperative to improve quality of life for urban residents, while needing to invest in appropriate and resource-efficient infrastructures that reduce the global impact of cities

Moderator: Prof M. Swilling, Chairman of the Board, DBSA, Director of Sustainability Programme, Stellenbosch University
Mr Youness Chekroun, Deputy Mayor, Rabat Local Government
Prof Heba Khalil, Professor of Sustainable Urbanism, Cairo University
Prof D Mwamfupe, Lord Mayor of Dodoma, Tanzania
Prof Nicholas Otienoh Oguge, Director, Centre for Advanced Studies in Environmental Law and Policy, University of Nairobi

15:30 – 16:00

Tea & Entertainment

16:00 – 16:30

Social & Environmental Justice

Ms Lebo Mashile, Presenter, Actress And Activist

16:30 – 17:15

Panel - What Next: African Capital Cities & Sustainability

Moderator: Mr Xolile George, South African Local Government Association (SALGA) CEO
His Worship: Cllr Steven Mokgalapa, Executive Mayor, City of Tshwane
Prof Tawana Kupe, Vice Chancellor University of Pretoria
Prof. Claudio Acyole, UN Habitat
Ms Dorah Modise, Chairperson of Africa Regional Network of Green Buildings Council

8:30 – 09:00


09:00 – 09:15

Opening & Recap of day 1

His Worship, Cllr. Stevens Mokgalapa
Executive Mayor of the City of Tshwane

09:15 – 09:45

Key note address

Honourable David Makhura, Premier of Gauteng Province (TBC)

09:45 – 10:45

Finance & Governance for Sustainable Cities - issues & mechanisms

Moderator: Dr. Geci Karuri-Sebina South African Cities Network
Conrad Kassier, Energy and Climate Portfolio Coordinator | Energy Systems & Infrastructure United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
Dr Benni K. Lekubu, Senior Academic, College of Law, UNISA
Cllr. Mare-Lise Fourie, Member of Mayoral Committee for Finance, City of Tshwane
Ms Khanyi Chaba, Head of Responsible Business, Old Mutual Limited
Mr Carl BERNADAC, Deputy Regional Director, Agence Française De Développement (AFD)
Mr Stephen Seaka, Managing Executive Head: Public Sector Absa Group

10:45 – 11:15

Tea break & Group photo

11:15 – 11:30

Objectives of the roundtable

Ms Nachi Majoe, Manager: Urban Systems & Strategic Alliances, ICLEI Africa

11:30 – 12:30

Situation room: What should my City look like?
Interactive session designed for deep engagement between Mayors of Capital Cities
Climate; Resilience; Sustainable urban resource management; Biodiversity & Nature-based solutions; Localisation of Agenda 2063 & SDGs; Peer learning/ future of ACCSF& support desk

Reflections & inputs

Facilitated by ICLEI Africa

12:30 – 12:45

ACCSF Secretariat formalisation & activation

Mr. Sello Mphaga, Divisional Head: City Sustainability, City of Tshwane

12:45 – 13:00

Adoption of ACCSF Statement

Programme Director

13:00 – 13:15

Closing Remarks

His Worship, Cllr. Stevens Mokgalapa, Executive Mayor of the City of Tshwane

13:15 – 14:15

Lunch & video vignettes

14:15 – 18:00

Free Time


Closed Mayoral Dinner

Parallel seminars will be hosted on the 26 June

View Seminars Agenda